Water into Wine – an after school club/sunday school teaching pack

Published April 26, 2012 by kimmiebee

Rocky has recently asked me to make the teaching packs for the church’s children’s club for now to the end of term. I jumped at the chance to have a go if you have read my interview feedback blog you will see that I am quite good at making resources.  The first theme of teaching was Water into Wine (Jesus’ first Miracle).

So I set about the task and came up the following resources to go with the theme

Games sheets

These two pages contain ideas for games. There are four games in total. Two games that are more active and involve running round and being a little noisy and two games that involve being more quiet and thinking or paying attention to things.

For one of the games I made a set of matching pairs games. I did this by printing the following pictures on to card, colouring them in, sticking them on to backing card and then laminating.

Craft How tos this explains two simple crafts in easy to follow steps. The one craft is making a bunch of grapes (wine is made from grapes, normally) and the second is a paper plate spinner which turns th blue water into red wine.

these are the templates that you will need to complete the crafts. I will at some point add a picture of the finished plate spinner so that you can see the hole that needs to be cut in the plate.

jugs template

Grapes template

And finally I decided to do a Take home sheet which includes information about the story and where it can be found in the Bible. This then helps the parents to know what the children have been learning and helps them to find it so that they can discuss what their children have learnt.

Leave a comment